TechSoup.org The place for nonprofits, charities, and libraries

Password Selection Tips?

Password Selection Tips?

• How has your nonprofit dealt with passwords? Do you have a formal, organization-wide policy?

Share your tips for selecting secure passwords here.
    senior editor, TechSoup
  • I like passphrases. Creating a passphrase is as simple as remembering a saying, for instance, "an apple a day keeps the doctor away" and using a letter from each word. So if I used the first letter of each word in the preceding passphrase, my password would be "aaadktda". Not the best password in the world, but certainly more complex than most.

To make a more secure password, include non-standard characters like $, %, or &. And longer passwords are more secure. Fourteen, fifteen characters or more are ideal.

I've been using passwords for 10 years now (remember the ol' days when we only needed one 4-digit pin?) and I classify them now. I have one I freely use for non-critical uses, such as this forum. That particular password I have no qualms about sharing with someone else There's others I've garnered thru the years, whether from ISP's to work to passphrases. My most secure passwords are combinations I've daisy-chained together for 15 character or more.
  • Our password policy is -

Minimum 8 characters, renewed every 40 days, must contain 2 of either: upercase, numeric, or special character - i.e.

M@dh@ter!
    Ch33se&3gg
    Num3r!c@1
  • Share your tips for selecting secure passwords here.

For any passwords of significance, I tend to use the Keepass application's password generation utility. It allows you to specify the password length and which characters to include, then prompts you for some "random" input (mouse or keyboard) to generate the password.

Keepass is also a handy-dandy utility to keep track of all those 100-character passwords, too. :cwm11;

Info on program: http://keepass.info/