TechSoup.org The place for nonprofits, charities, and libraries

What is the best open source CMS to build a non-profit website?

What is the best open source CMS to build a non-profit website?

• I'm a front end designer with HTML/CSS knowledge, but I am NOT a programmer. I'm building a website for my non-profit which will include a social utility, 2 log-in sections (1 for non-profits / 1 for volunteers), a job board, and a message board/forum. I have access to volunteer developers for the really heavy lifting. But I want to set up the template and make updates myself.

I've looked at Joomla but the instruction is so sloppy it's as if they don't want you to use it. I've been told to explore WordPress, Drupal, and Expression Engine. Is there an open source CMS out there that can handle my needs while still being user-friendly? Thanks to everyone in advance!

• Drupal or Expression Engine are what I'd suggest.

Wordpress is easy, but perhaps not as flexible as what you might need later.

Both Drupal and Expression Engine have incredible support communities, which is what I'm guessing is something that you will really need.

• I'd add Joomla to the list of things to look at.  We use Expression Engine in my company, my designer has a lot of HTML/CSS knowledge, but like you hasn't delved too much into programming.  He would recommend Expression Engine over all.  I use Joomla on a couple sites i'm developing now, I find it easy to work with.  I am using Word Press for my blog, but will probably be switching it over to Joomla since I want to add more to it than just a blog and as Rog indicateds I'd like it to be more flexible.

Chris Shipley
    Nutmeg Consulting

• I have been using Joomla with a winning template and extensions  and it is really a amazing tool but you need to look at Joomla site management in a different way than normal web development.  I find it much more intuitive than Drupal and EasyPublish as a CMS  
    Glenn