TechSoup.org The place for nonprofits, charities, and libraries

How to import an RSS feed?

• A college friend of mine recently asked me how to bring in an RSS feed into a website she's administering, but I have no idea what to tell her. One example of a news feed she'd like to this NPR Middle news feed.

Can she do something simple as just create a table and then put in some sort of HTML tag? (To give you an idea of how naive I am when it comes to web dev stuff. All I know is that I enter in some weird URL into my google reader accut, and everything works magically!)

If anyone would like to email her, her addy is s r o s s AT palestine center . 0 r g
  • I'm pretty new at this RSS stuff also, but I may be able to contribute a little...

There are a number of scripts that allow you to put the RSS on your site, but they are by far not created equal. The main thing that I see is that the ones that use Javascript are very common and very easy to install. The problem is that while visitors get to see the feeds, our friendly search engines do not. They only see the JS code in the page.

To get the full benefit, you will want to use PHP or another programing language to process the feed and convert it to HTML which can then easily be displayed in the page. And a "caching" script would be best, since the feed is downloaded once and then displayed for a period of time before it is later updated.

Sorry I can't provide any specific solutions at this time.
  • To get the full benefit, you will want to use PHP or another programing language to process the feed and convert it to HTML which can then easily be displayed in the page. And a "caching" script would be best, since the feed is downloaded once and then displayed for a period of time before it is later updated.

Interesting. Since I'm helping her with some of the PHP-programming, I'll have to search for a script. If anyone knows of such a script, please share.