TechSoup.org The place for nonprofits, charities, and libraries

Server Maintenance Plan

• I am new in my role and trying to assess our technology situation and propose upgrades and maintenance improvements. Can anyone provide me with an example of a good server and user maintenance plan (windows environment) as well as the typical lifespan of a server?

Thanks!

• Most computers have a average lifespan of about 5 years. This can vary greatly however, but generally people want a faster machine with more resources. And hardware problems become more likely as the machine reaches this age.

I'm not sure if you are talking about a plan that you can follow or something like a service agreement with a service provider.

• I am looking for a plan that I as the administrator can follow with our IT consultant.

• As far as lifespans go, depending on their role, a good quality server can last a heck of a long time. Lifetime for any particular usage is really dependent on it being able to keep up with its normal tasks and be able to handle required software updates. We've still got some legacy Windows XX (insert letters) crap that are 12 years old and due to some irreplaceable and antiquated software we still need another 5 - 10 out of them. For something like a domain server, it could last a really long time because there really isn't a huge amount of innovation as far as domain controllers go. For something that processes data or a large terminal services setup, the lifespan may be much shorter to keep performance at an acceptable level. You could say something arbitrary like 5 years for a server, but most servers should still be running fine after 5 years and it comes down to performance and software.