TechSoup.org The place for nonprofits, charities, and libraries

RE: Selecting and configuring a firewall

• I have some observations on the article Selecting and Configuring a Firewall that showed up in my email from TechSoup today.  My background is in systems and networks for for-profit start-ups and enterprises, and I donate my free time to small non-profits getting started with their tech needs.

First off, the article is very informative and gives a good checklist for figuring out some of the basics in determining which firewall technology to pick up.  I feel it would be very useful to someone who is the "tech guy" at a lot of mid-sized non-profits that are finally feeling their growing pains techwise.

Now, here is some additional advice that I feel might complement the information in the article:

Don't make a decision until you have taken the time to visit other similarly sized non-profits and discuss with their staff why they made their decisions.  If you have never picked a firewall before, the choices available and the support requirements can vary wildly.  As the decision-maker, you will have a better idea of "what works" by finding out what other people have had successes with.  You will also have a better idea what hidden costs others have run into, and will be able to scale your budget accordingly.

If you can, find someone who has more experience with infrastructure decisions and have them plan your network development with you.  This is probably more important than you think, because firewalls are critical pieces of a network infrastructure that will become a bottleneck if they do not perform.  And they will not perform if they are underpowered, don't have the correct features, or are improperly placed.  If work is so phenomenally important that you cannot be down until a replacement firewall arrives, then that eventuality has to be planned in as well, so you are now considering failover, cold and warm spares, and remote management.