TechSoup.org The place for nonprofits, charities, and libraries

Raisers Edge Training

• Hi All- Im supporting a development staff of 5 plus a director. We are on the current version of Raisers Edge and looking to expand our staffs use of this tool.
    Im looking for alternatives to sending them to Blackbaud for training. What Id really like to find is a local (San Francisco) consultant/trainer. Someone who can come in analyze our use of the tool and conduct training onsite.

Id be forever grateful for your rec's.

Thanks, John Dito
    Director of IT
    The San Francisco Art Institute
  • While I don't live in your area, I'd be happy to help you for free if we can do it remotely, either over the phone or via email contact. I have extensive experience with the program.

I've talked to a number of RE users in the same position.

It is very expensive to train users in the RE program, and consequently many organizations are simply unable to operate RE with reasonable functionality and efficiency. I believe your situation is widespread among organizations that use Raiser's Edge, and that many nonprofits and charitable orgs. need affordable consulting/training. Otherwise, a number of excellent service orgs. will continue to waste their limited financial and human resources.

I am currently researching your problem -- I want to know how many nonprofits have purchased the Raiser's Edge technology but feel they do not have (and cannot afford) staffmembers who are trained to use it.

In fact, I am considering my own "consulting/training" nonprofit whose intention is to help other nonprofits that are struggling with this situation.

• John,

Here are some resources for Raiser's Edge training beyond what Blackbaud offers:
    Heller Consulting
    NFP Technologies
    Jaconsen Consulting

You might also post your question on the unofficial Raiser's Edge forums:
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TRE_Users/
    http://www.blackbus.org

Robert

Robert L. Weiner Consulting