TechSoup.org The place for nonprofits, charities, and libraries

What are your favorite page layout tools?

What are your favorite page layout tools?

• Do you have a tool that you think works best for page layout? What do you use to design donor letters and annual reports?

Becky Wiegand is the Webinar Program Manager at TechSoup.org
    @bajeckabean on Twitter

• For many years I've used PagePlus for page layout. It's put out by Serif software, which also has photo editing software that I use and like.

It is much less expensive than similar software, and has a full range of page layout features.

The company also hosts an active User Forum where questions are answered quickly by other users.

Best wishes,

Volunteer TechSoup Moderator

• Being a designer, I prefer Adobe InDesign. It is a bit pricey, but there is no project it cannot handle.

Beyond that I would suggest something like PagePlus (as Sasha mentioned), MS Publisher or even OpenOffice if you are on a very tight budget. It really depends on your budget and skill set.

Microsoft Publisher can be a pain if you are an advanced user b/c it can be so limiting for custom operations, but on the other hand you would be hard pressed to find a more intuitive interface for beginners. It also has support for vast numbers of commercial templates from Universal, Avery, etc. Clipart is included and additional free artwork and project templates (newsletters, newspapers, resumes, etc.) can be downloaded from Microsoft once you register online.

PagePlus and Publisher have active communities so you will have easy access to peer support forums, customer-created templates, project ideas, etc.
  • Steven,

Does Open Office have page layout features? I thought it just a regular word processing program.

Best wishes,

Volunteer TechSoup Moderator