TechSoup.org The place for nonprofits, charities, and libraries

Image quality vs. size

• Have you ever wondered about the difference between DPI and PPI and how they relate to image quality? Do you have trouble figuring out what size an image needs to be so that it looks good in your printed materials or on your Web site? Do you have other image-related questions that you just can't seem to answer?

TechSoup's article Understanding Images: A Guide to Resolution and Size answers a few of the most common questions regarding image quality and size.
  • Great work!
  • Hey Don,

Thanks for the kind words; Senior Editor Alexandra Krasne and Associate Editor Willow Cook both played a major role in helping sort this article out; it's a deceptively complex subject.

Brian Satterfield Staff Writer TechSoup.org
  • This is probably the best article I have read explaining image resolution. I plan to keep it on file. I'm a graphic designer and have noted in other articles I have read on the topic that the ppi vs dpi isn't addressed or the writer is unclear on the distinction between the two. It's confusing when even on scanners the resolution is referred to as dpi when dpi refers to printing resolution, not image resolution.

In terms of creating documents with images for print or web, another article may be in order: describing not only press resolution vs web resolution but also rgb vs cmyk. For instance, people trying to do their own pre-press work wonder why they can't see a jpg sent to them as it doesn't automatically open in their emailer. That is likely because the jpg is in cmyk format and so needs an image editor software in order to view it. Once converted to rgb it will show up in your email without you needing other software to open it.

With charities and non-profits a graphic designer is not always affordable and so a few basics for the lay person may come in very handy.
  • Maddi,