What if Cloud Vendors Go Out of Business or Delete Your Account?

What if Cloud Vendors Go Out of Business or Delete Your Account?

• Comments 7
  • Honestly, this is my greatest fear when it comes to storing data in the cloud. One day, all my information is at my fingertips. Life is great. Next day, all my data is suddenly gone without warning.  Catastrophe.

Hi Everyone. My name is Yann. I'm an Internet professional with a Cloud Phobia.

• I agree with Yann as someone responsible for network and therefore data security and backup. Working as I do in Ethiopia another concern is the availability of data 'in the cloud' if the power goes or there are problems at Ethiopia Telecom (the most frequent reason they give for service breaks is rats eating the cable!). Put your data 'in the cloud' but if it is critical keep a local copy.

• This is one of the reasons I setup and have my customers use CloudPockets.com. It provides for both a local, and cloud backup.

If you are Canadian based it has the added benefit of storing your data in Canada, not in the US where it is subject to US security and privacy laws.

Disclaimer: I am an owner of CloudPockets.com

• Technicalguy,

Just curious, any plans in the works to offer charities a discount of some sort on Cloudpockets.com?

• Haha, Yann, I wish I could "like" your post.

I'm a fan of the 2x2x2 rule, but that's easier said than done. I worked in a teeny office (with no IT staff) that had a server with backup tapes that would literally electrocute people if they touched it without touching the wall first. LOL And the backup tapes often didn't work or complete the backup.

So we used Jungle Disk and the backup tapes with the server and rotated the tapes between houses regularly. But we were always concerned about a set of tapes getting stolen from someone's car and what client data could go missing as a result. But we were too paranoid to ONLY rely on the cloud, so we did both.